Reviews of White Water Rafting with River Runners

If you would like to leave a review write yours here:

 
We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence then, is not an act, but a habit
— Aristotle

At River Runners our guests become part of the family. Because we are a small business, service is personal, friendly and genuine. We do what we do because we get a kick out of seeing other people enjoy the river, Camp Lotus and good food as much as we do. See what some of our guests think;

 


Carlie H reviewed River Runners – 5 star

What a great crew!! We are so glad to have found River Runners, the hospitality was amazing and the river runs were better than we ever expected! So many new memories made for our family that will last a lifetime. We WILL be back! Thank you so much for an awesome first experience on the river. Your expertise and experience is second to none...looking forward to many more trips!!! Thank you so much~the Hanchett family

August 2016

See the original review here


Patty O reviewed River Runners – 5 star

Consistently the best of the best. The food, the camp, the river, and some of the best people you'll ever run over rapids and the best places to stop. Year after year... No one compares. Simply the very best. Love them so much!!

September 6th 2016

See the original review here.


Danyelle S reviewed River Runners – 5 star

River Runners is by the far the best company on the river. They are in the water first and get off last, their guides are extremely knowledgeable about the river and super fun to be around, the food is great and camp is clean and comfortable. 5 stars all around. 

Reviewed July 25th 2016 

See the original review here.


Jason B's Review of rafting with River Runners - 5 Stars

“Beyond Expectations ”

A truly amazing outdoor experience! Our day with River Runners was more than a rafting trip, it was a connection with nature, the river and truly wonderful people; our guides John and Sarah.

We paddled, swam, learned about river history, heard old family stories, picked amazing berries, laughed, leaped and made life long memories. Thank you!

08/09/2016

See the original Review here.


Kevin T's Review of rafting with River Runners - 5 Stars

“Great well-paced day on the river”

Really can't say enough good things about John and his guiding. Yes, he was a skillful experienced (15 years on the river?) guide who got us safely down the river. But it was the whole experience that was magical/special. Other tours take (we heard) 4 hours to go the route we did -- John gave us a full 6 hours, extremely patient and leisurely. He taught my daughter and niece how to skip rocks (he's quite good at it), he found multiple spots with fresh berries and helped us pick them. He found a great jumping rock that my daughter & I used happily, but when it was too high for my niece, he knew of a shorter rock, then patiently stood holding her hand for a good 10 minutes until she got the courage to jump off of it. Good lunch at a great spot that he has to himself. When we showed interest in history, he stopped at a totally random spot and walked us 15 feet to a channel that gold-rush-era miners had dynamited to redirect the river -- super cool. And he was a great conversationalist throughout. Fab day.

08/18/2016

See the original Review here.


What Dan D thinks about his rafting trip with River Runners -  5 Stars

“Unforgettable Weekend in the Great Outdoors!”

Just back from the most amazing weekend on the American River with River Runners. We were a group of 24 friends that went up for a 2-day river adventure and River Runners are by far the best. If you are looking for an experience beyond just zipping through the river, stopping and seeing where a beaver is building a dam, picking some blackberries, jumping from rocks into rapids or just catching some sun on some rocks at some of the best places along the river than River Runners is for you. This is my 5th year going up and rafting with River Runners and it is one of my most anticipated weekends of the year!

They do everything for us, we just relaxed the entire time and enjoyed. We arrived on Friday afternoon and the tents were ready for us all we had to do was select the one we wanted, place it where we wanted and put our stuff in it and then relax. They did the rest. Day 1 began with them making breakfast for us in the morning and cleaning it up, a great orientation of what to expect and how to be safe rafting on the river then it was to a day on the river. We stopped for a great lunch all set up by them along the river and relaxed a bit and then jumped back in the boats to raft the rest of the day. A bus picked us up and bussed us back to camp where we showered and they made dinner for us and cleaned it up as well so we could just relax and enjoy our beers, the stars, a campfire and the great outdoors. Day 2 they again made a great breakfast, cleaned up and then bussed us up river to another starting point where we rafted the better part of the day and then ended back at the camp where they made us bbq'd hamburgers and hot dogs and we said our goodbyes to head back home.

Absolutely, by far, the best and most knowledgeable guides on the river and you will have the most amazing time. The owners John Kosakowsky & Sarah Vee are wonderful and their guides not only know the river and have your safety as their number 1 priority but they know the best spots to stop, the best rapids to swim (if you want to swim rapids), the best places to jump from rocks and ride a rapid only to have it spin you back into a small calm pool. If you are just into kicking it in the boat, that is cool too.

The best weekend ever! They are AWESOME!

07/18/2016

See the original review here.


Josh F's Review - 5 Stars

This place was recommended by a friend who has been going there for several years.  I recently got back from what I can only describe a 100% awesome rafting adventure!  I went  with my two boys (13 and 11) and our friends who have boys the same age.  This was our first time and I can't imagine it could have gone better.  River Runners made our trip special, amazing, and incredibly easy!  

We loved it so much that we will be going back again soon.  John and Sarah own the company and they are there giving tours and working.  John's brother Daniel was out guide and he was outstanding!  Daniel is like a river whisperer.  He and his family grew up playing in and around the river and Daniel showed us so many special treats that the trip went well beyond a regular white water rafting adventure.  Daniel showed us special currents we could float in, he encouraged us to float around in some of the calmer water, we jumped off of rocks, picked wild blackberries and so much more.  While we were doing all of these unique experiences, other rafting companies were paddling down the river from one white water spot to the next.  If I could give them 6 stars I would.

Included in our two day package were all meals, tents, sleeping pads, and river guide.  All we brought was sleeping bags and sunscreen.  Sara and John cooked the food which was fresh, local, and delicious.  The accommodations at Camp Lotus where we stayed were comfortable and convenient.  (Showers and flush toilets).  The tents were actually set up for us when we arrived.

Everything about our trip was outstanding.  John, Sara, and Daniel gave us an experience we will never forget and one we want to repeat every year!

Here's a video I made of our trip - youtube.com/watch?v=VrM4…

01/08/2016

See the original review here


Dominique B's Rafting Review -  5 Stars

What a great organization! It's a family run business and it's clear that they really care about their customers' experience. Another mom and I went with our kids (ages 9-14) and everyone had a great time. Daniel was our guide, and he was patient, kind and fun to be around. Sarah was the guide for the other boat and she too was wonderful. Try to book a trip on a week day as the weekends get very crowded. You will not feel rushed as they spend about 6 hours on the river. We were able to swim, float, jump off rocks, and never once felt rushed to move along to get back. Other companies spend half this amount of time on the river which would lead to a very different experience. If you want a leisurely day on the river, this is the group to book your trip with!

Wear rash guards, sun hats, and sun glasses, and comfortable shoes that you don't mind getting wet. I wore Teva's and by the end of the day, they felt heavy and uncomfortable. Also bring a set of dry clothing and shoes to change into at the end of the day!

07/11/2016

See the original review here


Jennifer L-B's Rafting Review - 5 Stars

Hands down the BEST experience! We love everyone at River Runners!!! The guides are amazing, the food is outstanding, and John and Sara ROCK!!! Kyle has been our guide every year we have been there and we absolutely LOVE him!!!

07/07/2016

See the original review here


Steven P's Review- 5 Stars

We have been to River Runners USA now 4 times and each time is more fun than the last. The crew there are awesome - super knowledgable and VERY friendly. They cater to your every need. The rafting is fun, relaxed, invigorating and scenic. They have done a great job of updating the campsite and equipment, and keeping the family fun & fun-loving atmosphere that is unique to this group of guides. This is one of my families ALL TIME FAVORITE activities and we have taken to recruiting other families to join us and believe that we will continue to add to the groups and helping to pass along the fun. I cannot say enough about this adventure and the PEOPLE that have made every single one of our trips the greatest.
THANK YOU RIVER RUNNERS USA - we will see you all again soon!

06/29/2016

See the original review here


Andrew W's Review of rafting with River Runners - 5 Stars

We had an amazing time on our two-day trip down the American River. My friends and I took a guy's weekend to blow off steam and reconnect.

John and Sarah were amazing hosts as well as river guides. Their approach is to give you a great experience on and off the river. The campsite is at Lotus campground, a nice space along the river that unlike other sites I've stayed at, was green and grassy, not dusty. Our group shared the area with one other group and tents were set up for us when we got there.

Breakfast and dinner were wonderful. The crew cooked for us in their new outdoor kitchen. Eggs, bacon and fruit for breakfast. And good coffee! Dinner was a variety of choices, all fresh. Plus we had lunch to take on the river with us.

The rafting experience couldn't have been better. John took our group and showed us features of the river that we wouldn't have gotten from other bigger companies. With his many years of experience rafting on the American and elsewhere, we felt relaxed knowing we were in good hands. Not to say the river wasn't exciting in parts, as we managed to find all the sweet spots on the rapids to get a great ride and get plenty doused with shockingly cold water (thank God temps were in the 90's or better).

We also really enjoyed our conversations on the boat with John, as ours is a philosophical group and love to talk. He shared a lot of his knowledge and experience and had real interest in what we had to say. Though we weren't in Sarah's or Kyle's boat, we could see they were expertly guiding their groups. Both of them had young kids and everyone seemed to be having a great time with no problems.

If you can, I recommend taking a two-day trip on the South Fork so you have time to really get into the flow of things. They offer other options as well on their website. Whichever you decide on, I highly recommend giving River Runners a try.

06/11/2016

See the original review here


Robin McTaggart 

I had one of the best experiences of my life !! It was everything I had hoped for and so much more. Everyone is welcoming, the food is wonderful and our guide, Joe, made all of us feel safe and gave us the best time ever.
I just got home and want to go back as soon as possible. Robin McT

08/2017

(This review was written as a comment directly on our website)